How did you find your 'niche'?

undertheletter

undertheletter
  • Law Student

Probably a poorly worded question, but for all the lawyers out there (maybe articling students too), how/when did you decide to focus on a specific practice area? Is academic interest a good indication of interest in the actual practice area? What steps did you take to demonstrate interest/break in?

I'm in first year and so far I enjoy all of my courses, but none stand out as 'the one' which I would obviously pursue as a career. Because of this, I feel like I'm missing out on building up a set of area-specific EC's/research opportunities which might help me in the future. 

CleanHands
  • Lawyer

I only applied to law school because there was a specific practice area I wanted to work in. I knew what I wanted to do. Neither law school nor legal practice ever made me second guess this for a second. Although I have discovered some additional areas that were interesting and rewarding which became secondary pursuits.

Not to make you feel anxious, because your trajectory in this respect is definitely more common than mine.

• Like 2

TobyFlenderson
  • Lawyer

Assuming your first year classes are anything like Western's (contracts, torts, constitutional, property, criminal), they're very broad. At some point, you'll hopefully come across some section of a class that you find pretty interesting. That might point you in the right direction.

Once you start to get electives and can choose classes that sound interesting (and, maybe more importantly, can actively avoid areas you know you don't like).

I developed a pretty decent interest in one of my 1L classes by the end that has steered me into a particular practice area (and I was lucky enough to summer in that area, which helped), but I've also developed an interest in another area as a result of an upper year class that I'll have the chance to explore while articling.