How long did people take to feel confident during their articles?

Healthygarden

Healthygarden
  • Lawyer

I've been articling for a few months and I've had ebbs and flows of anxiety throughout. What helps me are regular convos with several lawyers who I work with and who can give me direct feedback on my work.

I'm still not wholly "confident" but is that even possible during articles? I am a bit burnt out as well, given my other responsibilities outside of work, so maybe I just need to gain some other perspective.

Edited by Healthygarden
  • Like 1

I’m several years out of articling now but the advice I always give our students, and even more junior lawyers, is that it’s totally normal to not feel wholly confident at any point in time. You’re continually learning new things - and you’ll continue to learn new things throughout your practice. The confidence comes with having learned how to do the basics (put together a motion record, write a useful research memo, what pleadings look like generally, etc if you’re in litigation for example). When you’re faced with new things in the future that make you feel unconfident, think back to how little you knew at the start and how you figured out eventually how to do those things. The same will be true with this new stuff. Most senior lawyers you speak with will tell you that they can still feel unconfident or like an imposter with some things. No lawyer knows everything, they’ve just learned how to figure out the answer the best they can and to be comfortable with that. 

• Thanks 1

WhoKnows
  • Lawyer

I've been called over a year now, still not wholly confident in a good percentage of my work. I would be incredibly concerned if an articling student was confident in everything they do.