AMA - LSAT Instructor Edition

AllanC

For those who don’t know me I’m an LSAT instructor for a Toronto based outfit. I took the exam over a decade ago and have been teaching it for about 3 years now.

To answer your first question, no, I am not a masochist! I legitimately believe the exam and studying for it can be rather fun (because it is such a challenge). Also, I just get absolutely pumped when those I’m helping have a breakthrough or a certain “a-ha” moment. It’s like being able to see someone conquer their demon in real time and there’s something incredibly rewarding about that.

I’ve reviewed or even used most of the popular prep materials (PowerScore, 7Sage, Manhattan, LSAT Trainer, etc) and while I am biased due to my professional affiliations, I will try to give an honest account of those other materials I am familiar with if you have questions about them.

So, feel free to ask me anything about LSAT prep, what it’s like to be an LSAT instructor, trends I'm noticing with the exam, my feelings on LSAC, or whatever you want! There are also some incredibly bright people on this board and everyone is welcome to join in and answer questions with me (no one size fits all for the LSAT).

• Like 3
  • Thanks 3

Jean-Ralphio Saperstein
  • Law Student
22 minutes ago, AllanC said:

To answer your first question, no, I am not a masochist! I legitimately believe the exam and studying for it can be rather fun (because it is such a challenge)

I miss studying for the LSAT. There - I said it!

• Like 2
  • Nom! 1

Crute
  • Applicant

There seems to be a divergence of opinion on how to tackle RC. Some advocate for skimming the passages and looking for structure then reading it again later for details, while others suggest taking your time with the passage and go through the questions quickly. Which way have you found to be the best for most of your students? Is there a way to practice RC the most efficiently, or does it depend on each student? 

Thanks,