How many Hours a Week Required in Law School?

SecondCareerLaw

SecondCareerLaw
  • Applicant

Hi All,

I am a mid-career professional currently earning $150,000 a year and self employed. I have flexible hours, but, with family commitments must work at least 20-30 hours a week. Can anyone suggest a range of hours needed to dedicate to law school?

Of course, we all work at different paces, which can change based on many personal factors anyway such as productivity under pressure and amount of sleep. Hence, my request for a suggested range of hours. Also would love to hear personal experiences. 

Given grades to matter to employers, is it possible to explain to them that for reasons above lower grades were justified and not reflective of legal potential? My first career involves many transferable skills. 

Thanks

CleanHands
  • Lawyer
18 minutes ago, SecondCareerLaw said:

I am a mid-career professional currently earning $150,000 a year and self employed. I have flexible hours, but, with family commitments must work at least 20-30 hours a week. Can anyone suggest a range of hours needed to dedicate to law school?

Of course, we all work at different paces, which can change based on many personal factors anyway such as productivity under pressure and amount of sleep. Hence, my request for a suggested range of hours. Also would love to hear personal experiences. 

This has been discussed ad nauseaum and different people have such different experiences with law school (literally ranging from just picking up a CAN a few days before exams and doing fine to spending 60-80 hours a week on school to get by, at the extreme ends) that no estimate that any individual writes will be helpful to you (the opposite, in fact). Will very much depend on you.

18 minutes ago, SecondCareerLaw said: