What do legal professionals usually tell family/friends who ask for legal advice?

Healthygarden

Healthygarden
  • Lawyer

As an articling student I've been telling them that I don't feel comfortable giving legal advice.

While i understand that this question depends on the complexity and severity of the case, before even hearing the facts, what do you tell them?

Rashabon
  • Lawyer

You tell them you're not their lawyer and you are not allowed to give them legal advice. If they do want legal advice, they can go through the proper channels, sign a retainer, etc. You will have professional obligations that you don't want to fall offside.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I have often provided people with info about the Ontario lawyer referral service, which will give them a half hour consult and better information than I probably could provide. 

• Thanks 1

I tell them that sure, I would love to advise them on the purchase of their home, even though I couldn’t identify a purchase agreement if it walked up and introduced itself, I’m not really sure what a solicitor is, and I quite possibly have never read a contract in my life. 

Refusal makes you seem hard to get. Ineptitude works every time. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

OntheVerge
  • Lawyer