Mature (possible) Applicant: wondering if I may ask the forum for some guidance.

eucalyptus

eucalyptus
  • Applicant

About me:

I'm a Canadian citizen, and I'm a mature candidate (in my mid 30s). I'm a practicing health care professional with several years of work experience (I'd prefer to be vague about exactly what I do, but in case it's helpful - the prefix "Dr." is used to address me).  I have completed an undergraduate and a master's degree as well.  I have not yet calculated my GPAs, nor have I attempted to take the diagnostic LSAT yet.

I've only just begun thinking about applying to law schools in Canada (I realize that my question may be premature without including GPA and LSAT scores) and I'm wondering if anyone in the forum would please offer me some guidance.

How might my application be evaluated by an admissions committee at the following law schools: UofT, Western, Queens, UBC, McGill?
How heavily will my GPA be weighted in my application after so many years being out of school?
What are the criteria will be important to an admissions committee?

CleanHands
  • Lawyer

You've piqued my curiosity.

Med school admission standards in Canada are significantly higher than law school admissions, so GPA shouldn't be a concern if you were able to obtain a Canadian medical degree. Your references to being a "Canadian citizen" and being interested in "law schools in Canada" seem to suggest to me you may be based out of Canada and/or studied out of Canada.

If you are a Canadian MD and had the undergrad grades to get admitted you should have no issue getting into Canadian law schools (and of course mature student status and your work experience could only be a plus on top of that). So your concern is a bit odd to me. Did you get a medical degree from one of those practically open admission Caribbean medical schools or something?

No offence intended, it's just that this does make a huge difference with respect to what answers people should be giving you.