UofT vs Osgoode

Bread

Bread
  • Law School Admit

Interested in education quality, campus quality, articling rates, specialization in certain areas, competitiveness and anything else that one could consider relevant.

• Like 1

Pecan Boy
  • Articling Student

I'm a UofT student so I'm shamelessly biased, but I'll try to be evenhanded.

It's hard to compare certain things like quality of education without going to both schools, though I'd imagine they're the same. You'll learn the same stuff in 1L, and the quality of education in upper years really depends on the profs. I'm sure both schools have great, good, and shitty profs. Quality of education would also include things like clinical opportunities and externships. You should peruse each school's websites to get a sense of what each school is offering. Osgoode would almost certainly have the edge in terms of the breadth of clinical work you can do. But there'll be very hands-on, client-facing opportunities at each school. 

UofT's location is 1000% better (each school's "campus" will pretty much consist of one building if you're a law student). 

Articling rates are probably the same generally (i.e., somewhere in the high 90s), but UofT places its students better in the 2L recruit if that's something you might be into.

If you mean "competitiveness" as in "is the student body hyper-competitive?" I've certainly never felt that at UofT, and I'd be surprised if that was the case at Osgoode. Classmates in law school are generally much more supportive and helpful than they're caricatured to be by pre-law students, and I think that's a universal truth.

As for "specialization in certain areas," maybe you could clarify what areas you're interested in.