English at civil law schools?

CrimeAndPunishment

CrimeAndPunishment
  • Applicant

Hello, I'm wondering if there are any civil law schools that teach in English? Also, I was wondering what the pay is like in a city like Montreal compared to cities like Toronto and Calgary. My French is decent but definitely not phenomenal, and while my last 20 courses are about 3.95/4.0 my cgpa is lower due to a bad first stint at university. Can someone give me an idea of how the law schools are there, which ones are considered better. Also, how hard would it be to practice in Toronto after if I ever decided I wanted to move back? Thank you for your time and I'm sorry if these are very basic questions. 

TheDevilIKnow
  • Articling Student

I am not an expert on these things  so I will provide just a very basic reply. Hopefully someone more knowledgeable, and possibly motivated to correct me, will then chime in. 😉

I don't believe there are any civil law schools that teach entirely in English. McGill may be the exception, because it teaches a combined civil and common law program, with instruction primarily in English, I think - but you asked specifically about civil programs, so you're probably not thinking McGill. 

The other civil law schools are at the uniligingual french institutions in Quebec. I'm not sure if there's much sense of ranking between the various Quebec schools. It's not fair to compare McGill to the others, since it's not really the same program. I haven't seen any rankings of how well the civil schools place students in Montreal. In terms of a very general sense as a Quebecker, I would say that U de M is clearly the most "prestigious" Quebec university, but I don't know if that translates to law programs.