Do law students need a driver's license?

Bluelike

Bluelike
  • Applicant

This may be a dumb question. 

Do law students need a drivers license to get summer positions etc? Has anyone gotten a license while being a full time student?

I don't think learning how to drive is a problem, I'm just worried the process would take a long time (I'm an ON resident). Also my family does not own a car so I may need to take some driving course. 

GGrievous
  • Law Student

No you wouldn’t need one to apply. You will need ID for certain things but you can use a passport. There might be exceptions to this but I’ve never heard of one in my limited experience as a first year student, where you need a drivers license specifically. 

There are some kinds of law where you’ll need a car to get to various courts and meetings. Others were you don’t. 

If you don’t have access to a car you would need to take a course I imagine, the process takes as long as you need to learn + 1 day to take the test. You can also get a G1 license without driving can't you? It's been a while. 

Edited by Barry
  • Thanks 1

Bluelike
  • Applicant
2 hours ago, Barry said:

If you don’t have access to a car you would need to take a course I imagine, the process takes as long as you need to learn + 1 day to take the test. You can also get a G1 license without driving can't you? It's been a while. 

I can get a G1 without driving, but I was wondering if a full license would be required for some jobs or programs. I'm planning to get one sometime soon either way. It doesn't sound common for them to require a full license so I'm glad to hear this. Thank you!

• Like 1

Ben
  • Law Student

The only context in which I've ever heard of a summer position requiring students to have a driver's licence is so that students can attend various set date courts. Set date court is all virtual now. If it returned to being in person (which it shouldn't, but who knows), you would need a car for that.