Osgoode's Holistic Admission Policy

linguisticsinlaw

linguisticsinlaw
  • Applicant

hi there!!

this is my first time applying, so i'm still learning as i go! i was wondering if anyone knew if osgoode's admission policy is actually holistic - like how they mentioned on their website? i know its not the same as windsor's holistic process (with the 7 criteria and all), but i was just wondering if they places more emphasis on the academic factors more-so than the non-academic factors? or vice versa?

thanks!

Goblin King
  • Law Student

I don't attend Osgoode, but I applied last year and was accepted. It seems like they don't have a formal way of assessing applications holistically, or at least not a methodology that's publicly available. Despite claiming to be "holistic," Osgoode is very stats focused and is the second most competitive school in the province. You can see their past years' admissions averages here. The way their process was explained to me is that if you're above a certain threshold stats-wise, holistic factors don't really matter. They only matter for admissions in marginal candidates (e.g. a student with a 3.6 GPA, but who worked for years for a group lobbying for law reform in Chile),  or where there is something significant which impacted your GPA or LSAT. Hope this helps and good luck with applications. 

• Like 1

toro-nigiri
  • Applicant

I was admitted in December with a cGPA of <3.5 and an LSAT of 168. So take that as you will, but personally I don't think my LSAT was high enough to compensate for my GPA if you were only looking at stats. Holistic assessment, in my case at least, really does seem to mean holistic.

• Like 2

linguisticsinlaw
  • Applicant
22 minutes ago, toro-nigiri said: