Articling in Family Law

Lawnerd142

Lawnerd142
  • Law Student

Hi everyone,

I am a third year student at an Ontario law school. This summer I worked in a boutique civil litigation firm. They also offered me to stay for articling but I refused for various reasons. This semester I took a family law course and I absolutely loved the material and became really interested in this area of law. I'm hoping to find articling in a firm that focuses on family law or has a family law department.

I was wondering if anyone has any advice for me or if anyone knows a family law firm that is looking for an articling student to start this summer. 

If you know of any opportunities, please message me and I can send my resume, cover letter and transcripts.

Thank you.

• Like 2

Aureliuse
  • Lawyer

I have worked in this field as counsel for many years. I practice in Ontario. In what city are you looking to article? (You can PM me this information - it will be confidential).

Do you have any background in family law? Clinics? Volunteer experience? Work experience? Any court experience? (in-person or zoom court). 

Why do you want to do family law - aside from loving the materials?

The practice of family law contrasts sharply with theory and the law.

Edited by Aureliuse
  • Like 1

Lawnerd142
  • Law Student
On 1/15/2022 at 2:16 PM, Aureliuse said:

I have worked in this field as counsel for many years. I practice in Ontario. In what city are you looking to article? (You can PM me this information - it will be confidential).

Do you have any background in family law? Clinics? Volunteer experience? Work experience? Any court experience? (in-person or zoom court). 

Why do you want to do family law - aside from loving the materials?

The practice of family law contrasts sharply with theory and the law.