Am i safe only applying to McGill because I don't want to do the last?

Andalusian2400

Andalusian2400
  • Applicant

I am planning to apply to law school this fall but do not want to write the LSAT + McGill is my ideal school. How safe of a bet would you say it is I get accepted based on the following statistics/resume? Are McGill's admissions hard to predict or do they follow an expected pattern wherein you are almost guaranteed to get in if you meet certain criterion?

I have a 4.08/4.33 GPA, meaning i have an average between A and A+ (but closer to the latter). I work as a research assistant for a tenured professor: mostly coordinating with archives since I'm a history major and he's a history professor. I will have 3 extremely strong recommendation letters from professors, including the professor to whom I am an RA. I'm doing an honors history degree - meaning I'm writing a 60 page mini dissertation - if that counts for anything. I won 7 merit scholarships and 1 essay award over the years. I volunteered for 70 hours per semester as a writing tutor. I worked as a paid tutor as well at the university but rarely got any hours. I also work as a high school tutor outside school but again that does not give me a lot of hours. Another small thing I do is occasionally speak at uni events to new students on how to be organized and stuff  Also: I'd say I'm passively bilingual but have not taken any French courses beyond grade 11.

My main anxiety: I have little "real world" worj experience, only working in retail for 3 months and as a clerk at my family's business for like 10 hours per week.

Why I don't want to do the LSAT: I have no valid reason other than the fear that I could do poorly jeopardizing my chances to get into a good law school.

Do you think it's safe to JUST apply to McGill?

Correction: my GPA is closer to A than A+ : not the inverse

And to clarify: obviously, given my weak French education, I live in English canada

Edited by Andalusian2400

Notworthy