Why are law firms still failing on diversity? (Article)

GoBigOrGoHome

GoBigOrGoHome
  • Law Student

Came across an article that discusses law firms still failing on diversity

Maybe I am off base (and probably am because I am not a lawyer - yet), but I think that it is the way that this profession is structured and how it bills that continues to contribute to this. 

A substantial portion of law school graduates are KJD and will not have had substantial workplace experiences that assist them in navigating an office culture. They may have work experience, but in my case, I know that the gossip that ensued during my days working retail in the summers would not have flied in the offices I worked in afterwards. I view my retail job as transitory and if the culture sucked, you would leave and go to the next store over. Your specialized desk job isn't often transitory, so there is more of an effort put on establishing a decent culture. Law firms are predominantly made up of lawyers - and for those that are KJD, they may not have exposure to varying work cultures that would allow them to integrate that into their new workplace.