Hello Class of 2025! Plans for summer and what to look out for?

Khrisse

Khrisse
  • Law Student

Hello fellow members of U of A's Class of 2025! 

Haven't seen anything like this, so thought I'd try and kick it off. I'm envisioning this as a thread where this year's admits who are interested can begin to introduce ourselves and share any school-related intel. 

I'm curious about a couple things:

- what people are doing (work-wise, life-wise and/or fun-wise) in the lead-up to our 1L kickoff in September

- whether anyone who is perhaps better informed than me can advise of any school-related milestones we should be looking out for this summer. I'm new to all of this and so recently e-mailed the Faculty to ask when we register for courses, and so learned that apparently they assign us themselves (OK, now I know). Anyone know when we'll see schedules? 

A little about me: I've worked in policy and programs at various levels of government for 17 years, have done volunteer work in several human rights/social justice movements, and am thrilled to now be heading back to school to fulfil my life-long dream of becoming a lawyer. I'll be new to both Alberta and Edmonton and am really looking forward to getting to know them. Interests include: cooking spicy food, yoga, running, hiking, beer, Drag Race, and ugly-crying while reading milestone SCC human rights decisions. 

Plans for the summer: wrapping up my current job and organizing and executing a move to Edmonton! Also hoping to include some chill-time.

Your turn!   

• Like 7

nitzy
  • Law School Admit

Thanks for starting this post! Looking forward to getting acquainted with everyone.

-Summer plans: trying (unsuccessfully) to take it easy and not obsess over hypotheticals for the next three years. Also, looking forward to a trip to France in August!!