U of T vs uOttawa for Criminal Law

counterstriker

counterstriker
  • Applicant

Curious about a comparison between uOttawa and U of T.

My current career goal is to practice criminal law. Is it worth attending U of T for that objective?

My career plan is not definite as first year will include exposure to several courses involving different practice areas.

Thanks for any input!

ArchivesandMuseums
  • Articling Student
8 minutes ago, counterstriker said:

Curious about a comparison between uOttawa and U of T.

My current career goal is to practice criminal law. Is it worth attending U of T for that objective?

My career plan is not definite as first year will include exposure to several courses involving different practice areas.

Thanks for any input!

As a uOttawa law student, I would say that U of T is a far better school in terms of learning criminal law. U of T has Professor Kent Roach who is a giant in Canadian criminal law. Also, U of T has better clinical options regarding criminal law than uOttawa.  

• Like 2

CleanHands
  • Lawyer
39 minutes ago, counterstriker said:

Is it worth attending U of T for that objective?

Unless you come from money, paying $33k/year tuition and cost of living in one of the most expensive cities in the country (and world) for three years to pursue a criminal law career is insane. The numbers simply don't add up.

Whenever this comes up, inevitably clowns on this forum chime in with "UofT was super cheap/free for me due to bursaries; don't worry about that," but I know plenty of broke UofT law students from middle class families who paid sticker. Don't count on that unless you have reason to.

28 minutes ago, ArchivesandMuseums said:

U of T has Professor Kent Roach who is a giant in Canadian criminal law. Also, U of T has better clinical options regarding criminal law than uOttawa.