Volunteer experience for holistic schools

Seansei

Seansei
  • Law Student

My dream school is Osgoode Hall, and I know they are known for having a holistic admissions process. My stats are just about at their medians (cGPA 3.64 / LSAT 161) but I do not have much recent volunteer experience (though I volunteered somewhere every single weekend throughout high school, my job I got just before starting university prevented me from keeping with that commitment). I am now in my fourth year and, with co-op and two jobs throughout my entire undergrad, I have found time to volunteer at one event each year.

I imagine not all volunteer opportunities are equal. What are some high-quality volunteering opportunities that would make me stand out on an application? I know that volunteering should of course be for the benefit of others, but I want to make sure it is applicable. For instance, is it wise to reach out to law firms and ask if they are in need of a student volunteer? I am working full-time this summer for co-op and have a part time job on Saturday mornings but I am available in the evenings and on Sunday. What kind of experience should I be looking for, and how important is it for it to relate to law?

FranksRedHot
  • Law Student

In my mind, which is all annecdotal evidence, here's what I think. Also, I'm keeping this advice very general so that it can apply to as many people as possible, not just your situation.