How much does your major matter? Do schools account for grade differences among ‘harder’ majors?

Seansei

Seansei
  • Law Student

I am a computer science student. I consider this to be a one of the more difficult majors to perform well in. I know Windsor specifically considers the major taken in its holistic criteria, but do other Ontario schools (Osgoode, UofT, Western) consider this in the admissions process? Are certain degrees likely to make a candidate stand out (especially if that degree choice directly connects to an area of law one wishes to practice)? Is cGPA supreme and indiscriminate, or do schools weigh it with the difficulty of the major?

QueensDenning
  • Articling Student

CGPA (or B2/L2 depending on the school) - and LSAT score - is supreme and pretty much indiscriminate, even at the "holistic" schools. A STEM major might give you a leg up in law school job recruiting, though. What is your GPA? 

Degree doesn't matter despite how "holistic" a school may say they are. 

As the above poster said, your GPA and LSAT are all that matter. A 2.5cGPA in computer science is not going to get a seat at x law school over a basket weaving 3.7. 

Turtles
  • Law Student

While cGPA and LSAT are important, some schools do specifically weigh the nature of the program and I know a number of 2.9-3.5 (yes, big range) cGPA engineers who made it into UofT/Osgoode. Unsurprisingly, accepted students at the lower end of GPA ranges tend not to publicly share their GPA. As a less anecdotal example, the UofT law website specifically notes that they consider the nature of the undergraduate program when assessing applications. You can also peruse self-reported data from accepted threads, with obvious caveats.