Chances for International Student cGPA 3.57 (L2/B2: 3.79) LSAT: 166 (best)

J Alfred Prufrock

J Alfred Prufrock
  • Applicant

I am planning to apply to law school in the upcoming cycle. I am trying to understand what the trends are like for admissions in Canada. I am hoping the folks here will be able to help me out.

The cGPA (3.57) I have noted is the one on my undergraduate transcript (I graduated already--from a Canadian university).

The L2 and B2 (3.79) calculations are according to an OLSAS calculator I found and they are the exact same figures for me.

My best LSAT score is 166 (I am not too keen on retaking anymore, but I am welcome to differing advice that might give me something to think about)

I attended two different undergraduate institutions. I transferred after my second year and switched from STEM to Humanities (which is where I performed best). I had credits given (no grades) for my first year grades at my first university; I appealed on grounds of health. After my transfer to my second and graduation institution, I struggled with health issues and finding the right program. Many of my grades were affected during that first year after transferring. However, I bounced back and performed very well my last two years.

I have a bit of varied work experience. I have worked in a few different industries including in Canada and my home country. I have worked briefly in supply chain, auditing and currently working in industrial operations (without being too specific)--this is my main job right now and is in Canada.

I am also very "academic-oriented". I am a part time research assistant in social work at a university (different than my undergraduate institution). I also tutored A-level students during COVID to help with exam preparation (mainly English Literature, but also philosophy and political theory).