Imposter Syndrome Got Worse After Starting As Associate

LegalPositivism

LegalPositivism
  • Lawyer

Recently started as an associate at a mid-sized full service firm, also summered and articled there. Objectively I know that (a) most ppl in my firm are super, super nice, understanding and helpful, and (b) I'm in a better position than when I was an articling student. However, I am somehow experiencing the worst self-doubt ever, and am very sensitive about delivering something not good (probably most of the time), failing partners' and senior lawyers' expectations, and being seen as stupid and incompetent. I was called to a partner's office earlier, and instantly I was thinking "did I do a shit job on the stuff I gave them yesterday" -- turns out it was basically fine, they just wanted to go through it with me and discuss next steps. But that shows how I react to things right now and can't help assuming I did something wrong. The other day I was asking a quick question to another junior lawyer who's a couple years ahead, and almost cried during the conversation -- because I felt pretty silly not knowing that and also insecure about if that's something I should know; that lawyer was great in helping and gave me useful advice, basically saying it's normal, don't worry to much, just do what you can, no reasonable ppl expect you to know everything and do perfect job, set your boundaries, etc. 

So the reasonable part in me is accepting all that and asking myself to chill down, but not enough to curb the other thoughts or reactions that I know objectively are unnecessary. I did do a self reflection and identified the reasons for me feeling this way at the moment: