Rallying from a faceplant

AvgLawyer

AvgLawyer
  • Lawyer

As the title suggests, I am posting to get something off my chest that I have been holding in for a few weeks now.  As a quick background, I am a junior lawyer and have been with my current firm for just under a year at this point.  It's a fairly niche practice area and I joined the firm with little to no substantive knowledge but willingness.  Some time ago, the firm had a formal mid-year review (this was my first formal review since joining the firm).  I was genuinely looking forward to receiving constructive feedback and maybe a light slap on the wrist for screwups/mistakes.  To my surprise, my review was extremely brutal.  While I appreciated that the partners were honest and frank about their reviews, it was very difficult to take everything in.  I did receive some constructive feedback (which I have since then been working on and implementing) but the general idea seemed to be that my work was falling way below expectation and that I had to do better in order to keep my job.  I have been feeling utterly defeated since.  My "imposter syndrome" was actually just real and my inadequacy as a lawyer had been affirmed.