Re-Applying with the same stats you were waitlisted with

existentialdread

existentialdread
  • Law Student

Hello friends, 

I'll try to keep it short and sweet but I am still on the waitlist for Ualberta and Ucalgary but I am not optimistic that there will be an offer for me this upcoming week. Truthfully, I didn't really expect to be waitlisted this long and anticipated I would have been accepted or rejected earlier and could start planning accordingly but here we are in the first week of September still up in the air!

I applied with a 3.5-3.6 ish L2 and 163 highest LSAT and I have a few years of full-time work experience in legal. I wrote the last LSAT so my application was not completed until February which I know can put you at a disadvantage. 

So, my current conundrum is whether or not I should try to get a higher LSAT score for the next application cycle, or just apply right away with what I have. I don't want to write in January again and put myself at a disadvantage so I would be aiming for November; however, I have concerns about my ability to study enough and make those strides in less than 3 months especially with how demanding my work schedule is. Unfortunately dialling back the hours I work isn't really an option. 

In short, do you think there is any point in just re-applying with my same stats but applying ASAP? Or is that going to be fruitless?  Curious to hear opinions. 

pastmidnight
  • Law Student

I don’t think it’s fruitless — applying early could help, and the extra year of work experience you’ve had since last cycle might be what tips the scales in your favour at UofC — but I also think that doing everything you can to boost your chances, like rewriting the LSAT, is a good idea.