Are law students precluded from jury duty

MapleLeafs

MapleLeafs
  • Law Student

Just got a jury questionnaire and as a law student, I thought that I would be exempt from serving on a jury, but it appears not.

The Ontario jury duty website states that certain professions, including "lawyer (barrister or solicitor) or student-at-law" can't do jury duty. Note that it does not explicitly say law students. 

I'm a 3L law student and will be an articling student next year. Should my response on the questionnaire indicate that I am a part of a precluded profession that can't do jury duty? 

Edited by MapleLeafs

I would note that you are a law student and expect to graduate in 2023. That way it’s all aboveboard. 

(not legal advice obviously)

• Like 2

The thing is if your trial goes on for some time they can’t have you suddenly becoming a Student At Law or a lawyer mid-case. 

• Like 1

• 4 weeks later...
annaturney
  • Law Student

I know this was posted awhile ago, but if anyone else looks this up later - technically, law students who are still in law school are not precluded from jury student. The relevant act (for Ontario) exempts "students at law" - I got a letter at the start of 2L and called to confirm this means articling students. 

That being said, by the time you may actually get called to be on a jury, you may (a) either be finished law school and articling, at which point you can't be on a jury, or (b) still in law school, at which point you'll probably have too much legal knowledge/background for the Court/lawyers to want you as a juror. If you were to get called for jury duty at the start of 3L, you can probably just let them know you're in law school and you wouldn't have to do it. 

Turtles
  • Law Student
25 minutes ago, annaturney said: