How do law schools look at co-op, summer classes, part-time semesters, and taking lower year courses at upper year?

aspiring law student

aspiring law student
  • Undergrad

Hello, I am a third year undergraduate student and am striving to get into law school in 2023.

Before I get started, I would like to apologize and sincerely THANK YOU for taking your valuable time and effort in reading my extensive concern.

I am different from ordinary Canadian law applications for the many reasons as listed below, and I was wondering if any of them will be a hinderance or a draw back in admission, granted other portions of law school requirement are competitive. The concerns listed below are ordered in the order in which they were established and each leads to one another. 

My profile important for my concerns:

Undergraduate degree: BSc in Co-op psychology specialization with minor in biology (with minor in biology being a recent addition due to reason below)

Start-end date: Fall 2019 - Winter 2024 (5 year degree due to co-op)

cGPA: 3.96/4.00 (UofT scale)

My concerns: 

1.      I am a co-op student. In UTSC co-op programs, a student must complete a full course load in at least 1 summer semester.  As such, after my 2nd year of undergrad, 2021 summer, (where I was considered to be 3rd year due to the completed course load), I completed 5 courses in the summer (4 THIRD YEAR psychology courses and 1 second year elective) and received 85+ in each course. Concern: Taking 3rd year courses in the summer that would normally be taken (normally, I mean if I was not a co-op student) in the upcoming Fall. 

2.      When I was completing my 8-month full time co-op work term (Fall 2021-Winter 2022), I did not take any course and took the LSAT in January 2022 (w/ less than 50hrs of studying yielding 148 which was a big mistake).