Feeling Demoralized - Should I take this Offer?

litigationlawyer01

litigationlawyer01
  • Lawyer

Hi all - for context, I graduated from an Ontario law school in 2021 and was called to the bar this past summer. I articled at a small boutique litigation firm. While I have a strong resume of moots, clinics, and summer positions, my grades are not great (I graduated with a B average). While my firm extended an offer to return as an Associate, I chose not to take it for various reasons, one being that I'm looking for a larger firm with multiple practice areas (I articled in a very niche field). 

After getting ghosted from a prominent firm downtown Toronto, to say I'm feeling demoralized is an absolute understatement. It's a feeling I'm sure most of you can relate to. I started looking for Associate positions in the summer, and I've been coming up very short.

I do have one offer on the table from a small/mid-size firm practicing in areas I'm somewhat interested in (family, real estate, wills/estates, and some corporate/commercial). They have great work culture, strong mentorship values, and flexibility to work at-home or in-office. My two biggest concerns are that: (a) they are not a well-recognized firm, and (b) their compensation structure is completely fee-split. All my expenses/overhead are covered, and a steady flow of files will be provided by the firm, but of course I'm still concerned of how this will play out (practically, I only get paid on billed and collected funds). 

My questions are:

1. Will I be at a disadvantage for starting my career at a lesser known firm or should I wait for an offer from a more prominent firm? Would the positives (mentorship, great work environment) outweigh that?

2. Are there any concerns about working in a fee-split arrangement that I'm overlooking? Should I wait for a salaried offer?

Thank you so much for your advice. 

Aureliuse
  • Lawyer
3 hours ago, litigationlawyer01 said: