Lawyers, do you have a side... Volunteer role?

AllWellAndGood

AllWellAndGood
  • Lawyer

Hi all,

I was reflecting on the earlier thread about side gigs and I was wondering about the role that volunteering can take in the life of a lawyer and the possible issues or pitfalls to look out for.

For context, I'm a junior (1Y) at a large firm in Vancouver. Prior to law school, volunteerism was often a big part of my life, whether non-profits, advocacy, or politically. Now that I'm (barely) established as a lawyer I'm looking ahead and wondering when and how I'll volunteer some of my meager free time going forward.

Does anyone else here have volunteer commitments that they find easy or hard to manage with their careers, yet continue with? Has anyone had experiences where their volunteer cause became an issue with their firm/clients? Does anyone serve on a board for professional networking?

I'm mostly looking for examples of ways I can get engaged without disrupting my career too much, or that my firm might prefer I do, and was wondering what others here choose to do, and how they manage it with their schedules and firms.

I do a lot of volunteer work. The biggest thing is to say early and often that you aren't acting as a lawyer or giving legal advice and no one should rely on you for that sort of thing - unless that is what you're doing! I worked with a pro bono clinic on the DTES for about ten years, I've supervised a bunch of students at trial, and I'm on the Board of Directors for a community group now, in addition to some other stuff too identifiable to mention.

Volunteering is great. You are honing a skill set that is incredibly useful and should be shared if you can manage it. How often and how much is a very individual calculation. 

• Like 2

I volunteer, but mainly for one off things with no lasting commitment.