Good idea to apply?

ProudCrocodile

ProudCrocodile
  • Law School Admit

I'm an international undergraduate student majored in French and I think my english (IELTS 7.5 to 😎 is better than my french (DALF C1).Yes, neither is my mother tongue, My GPA is 3.75 and june lsatflex 171. 

As per the conditions on mcgill website, I reckon I have a good chance to be admitted; but I wonder if my french will be adequate to survive mcgill law. Besides, since tuition fee for international students is about 50k CAD per year, how big are my chances to get some bursary and could it be a better idea to go to UBC or Osgoode (UofT is too expensive)?

Thank you guys for your help.

Edited by Licn

Renerik
  • Law Student

You only need a functional/conversational competency in French for McGill. You might have to take some law courses offered in French and will read/listen to some material in French but you can answer in English if you're most comfortable with that. They'll have you take a phone interview during admissions to see if you can understand what is being said to you. From what I gather, you listen to a francophone and can answer their questions in English or French.

Si vous pouvez lire ceci sans avoir besoin l'aide, vous n'aurez aucun souci.

Not sure about scholarships but I don't think you'd get much if at all. Schools don't get government funding for international students so they need to shake you down for cash.

Edited by Renerik
Typo
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

• 4 weeks later...
mobri
  • Applicant