Could a bad assistant become a good lawyer?

stampedelaw

stampedelaw
  • Applicant

Not sure whether this is the right place for this post, but I'll ask anyway.

I had experience of working as an admin assistant at a big law firm. However, I feel I'm not a good fit for this type of work. It's very miscellaneous in nature, including tasks like printing and scanning, filing minute books, replying emails, sorting mails, ordering supplies, handling invoices, etc. And assistants are treated like the bottom of the hierarchy at a big law firm, which makes me feel uncomfortable. I'm not very good at multitasking and don't feel my work is valuable and appreciated. So I left the firm at last when it became more and more stressful and before I was on the verge of being fired.  But I've been always interested in law. I enjoy reading and writing. I'm not sure whether my failure of being a good assistant is an indicator that I won't become a competent lawyer either. I already submitted my law school applications this year, with a LSAT score 163 (not high but ok for a couple of schools). While waiting for the results, I have self doubt and can't help asking myself this question. 

• Like 2
  • Hugs 1

CleanHands
  • Lawyer

Anecdotal but FWIW I am abysmal at administrative and clerical duties and eternally grateful to my legal assistants for doing a far better job with those tasks than I would be able to. And I like to think (and the feedback I've gotten suggests) that I'm an okay lawyer. It's a very different skillset.

I won't belabour the point, I'll just say that you shouldn't let this hold you back. And it's great to have that experience to have developed empathy and appreciation for your future assistants!

• Like 3

KOMODO
  • Lawyer