UBC vs Alberta + $$

ananonymousonion

ananonymousonion
  • Law School Admit

Hypothetically, if I'm interested in pursuing a criminal law career, and don't really have a strong preference for where I want to practice, would one school give better outcomes than another (maybe in terms of government placements)?

I'd say it is a matter of money. Criminal law doesn't have the highest monetary returns so the less debt you have the better.

UBC is the cheaper school but the scholarship from Alberta goes a long way. 

Cost of living, including rent, is going to be higher in BC. Which would have me leaning Alberta if I were you. 

• Like 1

Renerik
  • Law Student

Biased given I'm a UofA student-

I had to make the same decision. What swayed me was:

1. It would cost me less to rent right next to the school by going to UofA than it would if I got a similar apartment an hour's commute away from UBC. Getting an apartment in Edmonton is super easy. Doing so in Vancouver is a rat race.

2. SLS, UofA's crim clinic. In my first month of law school I got to appear I court as an agent for someone else. You don't do anything serious or complicated, but it's a good introduction to what it's like being in the courtroom.

3. When I compared UofA+$$ to other schools, UofA would be the cheapest option to do my JD unless I stayed with family and went to DAL.

ananonymousonion
  • Law School Admit

Thanks for all the replies!

@LMPI'm just a little concerned that if I change my mind and think criminal law isn't for me, then UBC might give me more opportunities (clerking, biglaw networking, etc)? I've always thought of UofA as a good regional school with more regional influence.

@RenerikThe thing is, I don't know whether I'll get a UBC scholarship, because they don't hand them out until you accept! Based on your experience, do you think you would've gotten UBC money if you'd decided to go?