Osgoode vs LASL

aE_

aE_
  • Applicant

I've been accepted to both Osgoode and LASL for Fall 2023. I'm leaning towards Osgoode but thought I'd ask anyway. Which would you choose?

A little background: I hope to work in corporate/big law for a few years after law school to get experience and eventually settle down and open up my own solo practice. I currently work in the real estate industry and I'd probably want to keep working in the real estate industry in the future. Although, I am going into law school with an open mind and keeping my options open so we'll see where I end up in the future. 

On paper, Osgoode is obviously the better school and has always been my first choice. I've spoken to a few lawyers as well as students from each school and the feedback I've been getting is very mixed. Many have told me that TMU's hands-on practical approach to law school is very beneficial. While others have told me that Osgoode's clinical options are great and will provide the same (or better) experience but at a more established school. The other benefit I see with LASL is the ability to practice law without articling. Does this give an edge after graduating? I have heard from others that Big Law firms will still require students to article. 

P.S

For Oz students/alumni, how did you like living in the North York area? That is another reason I am even considering attending TMU.

CleanHands
  • Lawyer
5 minutes ago, aE_ said:

Many have told me that TMU's hands-on practical approach to law school is very beneficial. While others have told me that Osgoode's clinical options are great and will provide the same (or better) experience but at a more established school.