Tips for choosing financial supports for law school

sunshine

sunshine
  • Law School Admit

Hi folks, I wanted to ask about people's experiences with choosing their loans/grants/lines of credit, and if you would be willing to share those experiences or some advice. 

Personally, I am a first gen university student (neither of my parents went to uni, and the fam I have that did go to school went to local colleges), and I grew up below the poverty line, so I don't have anyone in my life who would even know where to begin when it comes to financing law school. I've been fortunate so far in that I got through school so far on scholarships and part-time work, but obviously that won't cut it for law school. 

Thanks in advance!

Edited by sunshine
  • Like 2

TobyFlenderson
  • Lawyer

it's very common for law students to fund their education with a combination of their own money, government funding (like OSAP), and a line of credit. If you're in Ontario, you'll want to apply for OSAP during the summer (not 100% on when the deadline is to ensure you have money before your tuition deadline), and if you've received an admission offer, you can start to explore a line of credit.

The conventional wisdom is to go to Scotiabank. From my own experience, this has held true. However, the key is to get an experienced PSLOC (professional student line of credit) advisor. Your local branch advisor, who may have never worked on a law school line of credit before, is going to accidentally give you a worse deal, because they don't know the standard. There was a list of reps based on program and school that floated around the old forum, but I can't seem to find it. I'll keep looking and edit my post if I do.