Lawyers who attended law as a mature student (and lawyers in general): Would you do it again?

Frankie576

Frankie576
  • Law Student

Hi there,

I’m having a bit of an existential crisis and thought hearing some different perspectives might be nice. I was a 1L this past year but ended up taking a LOA for a variety of reasons, and now that it’s coming time to make a decision about whether to go back, I’m really thinking long and hard about the pros and cons. I’m a mature student (30+), the work my husband has found in the province my school was in paid significantly less than where we are now, I want children but don’t have any yet, we own our home in the province we currently live in and are not sure what to do with it if I go back, and, most importantly, the debt load was already keeping me awake at night and that on top of employment riding on grades really led to my burn out.

Given the high interest rates these days, the tuition at my school being somewhat high (20k+) and my older starting age, I’m really making questioning whether going back is worth it. Before I was definitely riding the high of getting in, and now that that’s gone, I can more rationally weigh the pros and cons for someone in my particular situation. Has anyone been in a similar situation? Any past mature students that can offer some perspectives on my situation? Would you do law school again if you could go back in time?

Things to note: I do have a masters degree already and a big motivator of going to law school was to hopefully earn more than I was making at my previous job. 

Edited by Frankie576
Edited to add information.
  • Like 1

Sorry but my view is that you (or we all or any one person) could literally die tomorrow - do what you set out to do, what interests you, and what will give you the most fulfilment. 

• Like 3

Windsorhopeful
  • Articling Student