Friend of the Court- Actually meaningful or just an expression?

BlushAndTheBar

BlushAndTheBar
  • Lawyer

Student here- I understand that when you are in court you are to compose yourself in a dignified manner and are not to behave in a way that is disrespectful to your colleagues, as you are both considered "friends of the court". I recently read on LawTwitter™ that a lawyer has integrated into his practice taking opposing counsel out for lunch before a trial. I was wondering, is dignified behaviour expected no matter where you are across the profession? Or is it just a nice best practice to integrate?

Edited by TobyFlenderson
Fixed for dark mode
  • Like 1

StephenToast
  • Law Student

I'm not a lawyer and has nothing insightful to offer, but I do want to point out that that the Supreme Court of Canada has a mascot called the Amicus (Amicus curiae, friend of the court).

spacer.png

• Nom! 2

Blurg
  • Lawyer