Rejected 2023

applecidervinegar
  • Paralegal

Starting off this post strong. Second-time applicant. 

LSAT: 165

GPA: 81% with drops 

PS: I believe it was strong. I had the managing partner at my law firm read over it and he said it was very compelling and gave me some pointers which I integrated. I come from an immigrant, low-income family and grew up with an autistic brother and worked full time during highschool. I juggled four jobs and volunteered for the Downtown Criminal Court and as an exec for UBC clubs during my undergrad. I went through a mental health crisis in my first few years of undergrad and submitted documentation to prove it, as well as a letter from my therapist confirming how I've healed from it in the past few years. I have 5 years of law firm experience, including working at the Supreme Court of British Columbia for a year and volunteering for Access Pro Bono for 3 years while working full time as a Legal Assistant. I currently work as a paralegal at a commercial litigation law firm and received 3 strong reference letters from 2 professors at UBC and a name partner at my firm. 

For those who think that a rejection defines your skills and abilities - don't. There are so many other options out there and you will reach your dream to become a lawyer, even if you aren't accepted to your top choice!

I was accepted to UVIC, TRU (with a 5k scholarship), Dalhousie (with a 16k scholarship), and USask. I will be going to UVic. 

Edited by applecidervinegar
  • Hugs 7

ellemm
  • Law Student

Also rejected today. 

4.0 (Alberta GPA)

152 LSAT

Applied discretionary. Strong PS with many years of legal assistant work and federal government litigation work.
Feeling heartbroken and discouraged, but will re-take the LSAT and apply next year. 

• Hugs 3

starbuxlawyer
  • Law School Admit

165, 85% UBC GPA