Chances for law school and needing to take a summer course immediately before starting law school

SCL3456

SCL3456
  • Law School Admit

Hello friends, 

I am a McGill student entering my last (kinda) year of my undergrad, I just have two questions regarding the application process. 

Firstly, even though I am entering my last year, I still need 33 credits(11 courses) to graduate because I only took 4 courses in my first semester of undergrad. This means assuming I take full course load during my last year, I will need to take a summer course (likely just an easy elective) to graduate right before stating law school the same year. Is that a problem for Canadian law schools in general? Many law schools do not seem to say this is prohibited, but I was wondering if this will hurt my admission chances in any subtle way. 

Secondly, my have a CGPA of 3.75 (out of 4.0 without drop) and a 167 LSAT score. What are my chances of getting into UBC and UVIC? I heard the cycle has been extremely competitive the past few years and this might no longer be good enough for these schools. 

Thanks in advance!

Thrive92
  • Applicant

I can't tell if you're a troll or not with those stats, but with a 3.75/4.00 before drops and 167, you will get into uvic and ubc without a problem.

uvic states that their median gpa is 3.81 and the media lsat is 89th percentile (165). ubc average stats are also very similar. With drops, your cgpa will increase to that median, but even if it doesn't you still have a great chance of getting in.

The most recent cycle is considered by some to be an anomaly, and should not be considered the norm for the upcoming cycles.

As for taking courses during the summer semester right before you start attending law school, I suggest you call each of these schools to make sure if it is prohibited or negative in any way.

The uvic admissions contact is: 250-721-8151/lclerk2@uvic.ca and UBC admissions is: 604 822 6303/admissions@allard.ubc.ca

Good luck.

• Like 2