Considering Quitting Articling

Tictactoe

Tictactoe
  • Articling Student

Hello all. I have been articling for about 3 months with a great litigation firm with great people in a practice area I have a lot of interest in and to put it bluntly, I am miserable. I understand the articling experience is a gruelling one and was fully prepared to accept that going into it, but there have been hurdles I did not see coming and see no way to overcome. 

Without getting too into it, I have a lifelong condition that impacts my ability to process information and makes me easily cognitively fatigued by certain activities, such as long conversations and complex tasks. I’ve long since learned to cope with that to the point that I was able to do at least average in law school and secure an articling position. 

Now that I’ve started working however, my limitations have become more apparent. My limits and thresholds have never been so challenged before and again, that wasn’t unexpected. It’s on me for being arrogant, ignorant or dishonest with myself and my abilities coming into this work. I thought that over time my tolerances would increase and I’d be able to cope, but 3 months in that has not been the case. It’s resulted in me being able to do nothing but work, aggravates my health issues and made me experience the first panic attack of my life. And now I’m at an impasse.