Asking for a friend: is blue/pink/green etc. hair ok for clinic work?

Garfield

Garfield
  • Articling Student

Hi, asking for a friend who will be doing clinic work this year: is it okay for him to have blue/pink/green etc. hair? Or will he likely be asked to re-dye his hair to a more conservative colour?

TobyFlenderson
  • Lawyer

I would be more concerned about finding an articling position with unusual hair than what the clinic will think.

I don’t expect a clinic will formally ask him to re-dye his hair, although lawyers supervising the clinic may comment on it.

I think it’s possible, if not probable, that interviewers will think about the colour of his hair when considering whether to offer him a job, though. Not that I necessarily agree with it, but it is a concern I would have in his position.

• Like 3

BlockedQuebecois
  • Lawyer

I’m not an employment lawyer and don’t play one on the internet, but it’s not clear to me that a clinic could legally tell someone to dye their hair, particularly without a written policy on the matter. 

But I agree with @TobyFlendersonand would add that there could be reputational harms with lawyers at the clinic, in addition to the problem of finding articles. 

Conge
  • Lawyer

No one will (should) as him to re-dye his hair. However, rightly or wrongly, technicolour hair is seen as unprofessional.

I think he either just needs to own it and recognize some people will hold it against him and be willing to accept it might impact job prospects (or even the way judges see him), or change his appearance to avoid the risk.

Pendragon
  • Lawyer