Working as a Crown - Answering Questions

Judgelight

Judgelight
  • Lawyer
Canadian Law Forum logo
This post was recognized by the mods

Thank you for taking the time to share your knowledge and experience with the forum community!

Hello,

I'm a crown in Ontario. I'm a junior lawyer. I'm willing to answer questions people may have about my day-to-day work, etc.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 2

Lsat Struggles
  • Applicant

Hello, I hear that government positions are hard to come by and my current goal is to potentially work as a crown. (1) how did you land a job as a crown in Ontario? (2) what are you typical hours? (3) is being a crown a plausible career path?

CleanHands
  • Lawyer
20 minutes ago, Lsat Struggles said:

(3) is being a crown a plausible career path?

I'm not the OP, but how would you figure it would be "implausible"? It's a reasonably competitive position, nobody knows how you will perform in law school, and nothing is ever guaranteed, but our system needs a good number of Crowns to function and it's not super a remote possibility like getting an SCC clerkship or something. I'm just curious what you mean more specifically by your question.

• Like 2

Lsat Struggles
  • Applicant
26 minutes ago, CleanHands said:

I'm not the OP, but how would you figure it would be "implausible"? It's a reasonably competitive position, nobody knows how you will perform in law school, and nothing is ever guaranteed, but our system needs a good number of Crowns to function and it's not super a remote possibility like getting an SCC clerkship or something. I'm just curious what you mean more specifically by your question.

Sorry for the lack of clarification. I heard that anything dealing with government lawyer positions are extremely competitive and rare to get. I've read that the best bet would be to get in and work within province departments early (summer student/articling), or for federal, through the legal experience program. Otherwise, it's pretty rare?

ZineZ