Legal terms in French

GreyDude

GreyDude
  • Law Student

TL;DR: I am looking for good English/French translations of legal terms, or good dictionaries/encyclopedias of legal terms in French—particularly in a Québec Civil Code context. 

Hi all, I'm currently working on a brief to the Québec government on behalf of the institution I work for, and since I'm not a lawyer (or even a law student at the moment), I'm struggling with some legal terminology that I really need to get straight. I am hoping that asking here can shorten my research time because I have a close deadline.

I'm trying to find some sources to help me with a some terminological and conceptual distinctions that I'm finding unclear.

The brief is on a Bill currently before the National Assembly. I actually need the French terminology, but I'm thinking that by using good sources in English, I should be able to clarify the French on my own. I'm working with the French version, which is the only official one, but referencing the English translation from time to time. 

The best glossaries I have found so far are the Emond Publishing glossary that's here: https://emond.ca/resources/glossary-of-legal-terms.html and the Québec Ministère de la justice glossary here: https://www.justice.gouv.qc.ca/centre-de-documentation/glossaire. Termium is also helpful (https://www.btb.termiumplus.gc.ca/tpv2alpha/alpha-fra.html), but I'm not sure that it's always good for Civil Code terms, being federal and all.