Tried it for a few weeks, wasn't for me.

CoconutWater

I studied for 2 years and busted my ass during undergrad to only realize law school wasn't for me. Dropped out before the deadline to get my tuition money back. Best decision I made in my life 😃

MOD EDIT: please note this OP has admitted they lied and have not, in fact, dropped out.

CleanHands
  • Lawyer

Can I ask the how and why of you deciding this (that early)?

I think this has the potential to be an interesting topic of discussion and could potentially be useful to would-be applicants, but you have to give us a bit more to work with.

16 minutes ago, CleanHands said:

Can I ask the how and why of you deciding this (that early)?

I think this has the potential to be an interesting topic of discussion and could potentially be useful to would-be applicants, but you have to give us a bit more to work with.

Definitely, I don't mind sharing. I just felt out of place. Poor planning on my part. I had this notion of what being a lawyer was ever since I was young, but I never really knew what a lawyer did. I'll admit that I got swayed by watching lawyers on T.V and pressure from my family, so perhaps I tricked myself into believing this is what I wanted. 

Coming from an immigraint blue collar family, I had no connections to explore the legal field. Sure, you can say I could have went to ask a firm to shadow beforehand; but really, what firm is going to waste their time with some random kid of color.

On top of all this, I didn't feel inspired by any of my profs, any of the judges/lawyers who gave speaches at our orientation, and I didn't really see myself working with my fellow peers who, most, seem to come from priviledged backgrounds.

The immense amounts of reading and writing doesn't help either - both of which are not my strong suit. I prefer to do something that caters to my strengths. I'm thinking plumbing or electrical.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 2

CleanHands
  • Lawyer

Thanks for sharing your experience.