Any Chances?? cGpa: 2.7, L2/B2: 3.75, LSAT 168 (+ serious health concern)

randomguy314

randomguy314
  • Law School Admit

My application is kind of funny, so I would appreciate any feedback. I will try to be concise. 

Basically I had terrible grades in university for three years (2.34 gpa). In my 3rd year I developed a benign tumour in my spine called osteoblastoma. I took one semester off and then I transferred universities and into a different program.

I studied through chronic pain for a semester (scoring well), then had an invasive spinal surgery. When all was said and done this impacted a 3 year period of my life (2 years to diagnose + 1 year recovery following operation). At my new university, after my transfer credits, I only needed 5 semesters to graduate. 

So I returned, and completed two more semesters, wrote the LSAT, then took another year off due to poor mental health (partly a lingering product of the health problems I experienced). Now I have 3 semesters completed, with a 3.75 (olsas) gpa. I'm operating under the assumption that I will maintain this gpa this current semester and the next. 

I go over this in my personal statements, either in access category claims, or as a personal experience/obstacle I have overcome. I spent a lot of time on my statements, and I think they are quite strong. I also provided medical documentation obviously. 

I'm applying to 7 schools: Ottawa, Ryerson, Osgoode, Windsor, Queen's, Western, and McGill.

What do people think? Do I stand a chance? Is acceptance into McGill even a remote possibility or is it literally 0% chance, totally impossible? What about the other schools? I'm inclined to think I have a reasonable chance. 

Also, I studied philosophy, if that matters at all.