Securing non-OCI jobs

capitalttruth

capitalttruth
  • Law Student

Good evening.

I did not participate in the OCI recruit as I am not a 2L yet but I am in my second year of law school (2 out of 4 years). 

For anyone who secured a job outside of the OCI recruit, would you be able to share any tips that led you to success? When did you start e-mailing firms?

My goal is to get a summer position at a firm that practices Aboriginal law. I have experience in this field and I've prepared my CV and a skeleton cover letter to reflect this experience. If anyone got a job at a firm that does Aboriginal law outside of the OCI process, that would also help me. But general tips and ideas would also be a big help.

Queens23
  • Law Student
33 minutes ago, capitalttruth said:

Good evening.

I did not participate in the OCI recruit as I am not a 2L yet but I am in my second year of law school (2 out of 4 years). 

For anyone who secured a job outside of the OCI recruit, would you be able to share any tips that led you to success? When did you start e-mailing firms?

My goal is to get a summer position at a firm that practices Aboriginal law. I have experience in this field and I've prepared my CV and a skeleton cover letter to reflect this experience. If anyone got a job at a firm that does Aboriginal law outside of the OCI process, that would also help me. But general tips and ideas would also be a big help.