US Law Schools: Where do I shoot my shot?

lawyeringaround

lawyeringaround
  • Applicant

I am applying to US Law Schools for the first time. I am a POC woman and I completed my undergraduate degree from a top Canadian school in finance (I am canadian). My LSAT score is 160 and my GPA is around a 3.3 (78%). I have a very strong personal profile.

I have been looking through school rankings, LSAT ranges, and GPA ranges at schools but would love to hear suggestions on places to shoot my shot. How many schools do people apply to? Where is it actually worth it for me to apply? I don't want to have 1000x rejection emails so trying to get a balance of like insane schools vs i have a shot schools.

Some schools I am thinking about:

DREAM: Georgetown, Boston University, Boston College, Fordham, Berkley, University of Washington, University of California Irvine

OTHER: University of Florida Levin, Arizona State, University of California Davis

CleanHands
  • Lawyer

There are US forums that I think are better tailored for good advice about this and I'm not going to go look up those schools one by one for you but for real, Georgetown has median admit stats of a 3.8 GPA and 167 LSAT...

Rashabon
  • Lawyer

Yeah I don't think you'll get the advice you are looking for/need here. Try the US focused places like TLS: https://www.top-law-schools.com/

I'd wager the majority of experiences people here have with US law admissions are either those that applied and got in to/rejected from T14, or those that were considering bottom feeders. Most of the US lawyers that have come through the forums in the past on both websites were generally Canadian graduates that practiced in the States as well.

Good luck.

• Like 1

Renerik
  • Law Student

I had looked at US admissions before sitting down, laying out my finances, and thinking about what I wanted to do after law school.