Chance me please? cGPA 3.02/ L2 3.5/ LSAT 160

Pittielynn

Pittielynn
  • Law Student

I worked 2 part-time jobs for the duration of my undergrad, I hold a masters degree (stats above are for my undergrad), I've worked the past 8 years - finally pursuing a dream that far too many told me I would never see...

Hoping to stay in the maritimes - Dal (Schulich School of Law) preferably! 

• Like 1

lawap12
  • Applicant

Your lsat is right on the Dal median (160-164), and both of your GPAs are below. cGPA significantly below, L2 is a little closer, but still not on the median (3.7).

reading your post, you seem like a mature applicant, and I’m not sure how they’d weigh your life / work experience against that.

long story short, I have no idea. The median lsat + work experience might be enough, but Dal weighs GPA at 60%, and LSAT at 40% for admissions consideration, and your GPA could very well be your downfall. 

My (very unprofessional and definitely don’t take this to heart) opinion is that you’re like a 50/50 shot either way.

anyone else?

Edited by lawap12
  • Like 1

CleanHands
  • Lawyer
21 minutes ago, lawap12 said:

My (very unprofessional and definitely don’t take this to heart) opinion is that you’re like a 50/50 shot either way.

anyone else?

I think that's generous.

WiseGhost
  • Law Student

Masters GPA? If your masters GPA is higher than your undergrad, it could indicate to adcoms that you have the academic skills to do well in law school, even if your grades were impacted by working part time during your bachelors. 

I agree with @lawap12 that you definitely have a shot. The maritimes connection should help, but I'm really not sure about your chances! It's harder to know what traits schools value for mature students. You would likely have a better chance if you improved your LSAT to a 165 or better. 

Edited by villiuski

lawap12
  • Applicant
34 minutes ago, villiuski said: