Indigenous category

Megjackson

Megjackson
  • Law Student

I am applying for 2023 or 2024 intake years. I'm an indigenous student and I'm curious about the indigenous category that most law schools have. What's the point? Beyond ensuring diversity and all that. Are the standards lowered for indigenous students in that category, would it give me some sort of edge or make my application stand out more?

It seems like extra work with unclear advantages. Should I even bother applying under that category? 

Borat
  • Law Student

Standards are not explicitly lowered for applicants in the Indigenous category, but most schools here would place greater emphasis on factors other than your GPA/LSAT, such as your personal statement, letters of reference, work/volunteer experience, etc. For example, in relation to the Indigenous category, Queens states "If there is strong evidence of academic ability in the application, an exception might be made to the academic standards."

You are correct that the Indigenous application process for most schools requires a bit of extra work. Each school has different requirements, but at minimum you need to provide proof of Indigenous status. Some schools like UBC place an emphasis on applicants "involved with or committed to Indigenous communities and organizations, and intend to use their legal training to advance Indigenous concerns and interests."

Also most schools in Western Canada don't require letters of reference for general applicants, but typically two letters are required for Indigenous applicants (one of which describes your connections to the Indigenous community). Additional supplemental information may also be required.

If you're willing/able to put together a good Indigenous application, then there's no reason then why you shouldn't, especially if you're applying to schools such as UVic which have a strong Indigenous focus.

• Thanks 1

Pendragon
  • Lawyer