Chances? 3.04 GPA, 173 LSAT, Mature Applicant

Totally_Bucked

Totally_Bucked
  • Law School Admit

I'm back gang. Last year was not the year for splitters with weird CVs and mental health asterisks, so here we are again. Given the general "return to normal" trend that we're seeing in terms of LSAT score distribution and applicant numbers, how we feeling about these stats?

cGPA 3.04, graduated 2014

LSAT 173, only took it the one time

Mature student with ten years in the Canadian Armed Forces, part time while I was a student, full time after graduation. Couple of overseas deployments, couple of domestic deployments, leadership positions for the past six years. Diagnosed with a MH issue in 2020, lack of diagnosis/treatment definitely played a part in the mediocrity of my GPA.

Decent amount of volunteering, including some French to English translation work and assisting with Afghan refugee applicants.

One article published in a university journal.

PS talks a lot about leadership, application of rules to reality, changing rules so that they work better for people.

LORs are strong, I think, always a bit tough to say.

Applied or applying pretty much everywhere nationwide, except for UBC since they don't seem to care all that much about anything beyond GPA/LSAT and TRU since I'd rather get rejected than get accepted and then rejected after the fact.

As the military experience might suggest, I don't have all that many friends who are lawyers so these forums is where I come for collective knowledge. Thoughts on my chances?

CleanHands
  • Lawyer
7 minutes ago, Totally_Bucked said:

UBC since they don't seem to care all that much about anything beyond GPA/LSAT

Your info is outdated. Starting a few years ago, the personal statement is now given equal weight along with GPA and LSAT.