How best to round out my application

Alphabet11

Alphabet11
  • Applicant

Hi everyone,

I'm currently an officer in the Canadian Armed Forces and am considering releasing to apply to law school sometime in the next 2 years. My undergrad CGPA was 3.55 at McGill where I studied business. Thankfully my work has allowed me to have some great leadership experience but I have never deployed overseas. In undergrad I wasn't very active in terms of ECs but I worked as an officer in the army reserves throughout most of university and that took up the bulk of my spare time. What I want to know is other than performing well on the LSAT, what can I be doing between now and when I apply to best round out my application? Obviously I need to continue to perform in my current position but are there certain volunteering experiences that would be looked upon favorably? Is it worth going back to school to try and increase my GPA? I'm posted to a relatively isolated area so I don't the luxury of tons of options in terms of volunteering but I'm curious if there are some types of experiences that are valued more than others. 

Thanks.

QueensDenning
  • Articling Student

The only thing that really matters (or matters by far the most in terms of your application) are your GPA and LSAT - I don't think volunteering would make up for that. What is your B2/L2 GPA? 

AMG
  • Law Student
1 minute ago, QueensDenning said:

The only thing that really matters (or matters by far the most in terms of your application) are your GPA and LSAT - I don't think volunteering would make up for that. What is your B2/L2 GPA? 

I was just about to say this, especially in a year or two. I’d just spend a few months and try to get an LSAT above 160 and you should have a decent shot somewhere. 

Alphabet11
  • Applicant

6 minutes ago, AMG said:

I was just about to say this, especially in a year or two. I’d just spend a few months and try to get an LSAT above 160 and you should have a decent shot somewhere.