Strategies for overcoming a catastrophic undergrad GPA

filicophyta

I graduated last summer with a 2.64 cumulative average and a messy and confusing transcript overall; I am nonetheless determined to go to law school as soon as possible, and not as a mature student. My first question is this: am I correct in assuming that, even if I apply access and score a top-percentage LSAT, the GPA is unworkable? 

If it is unworkable, I imagine my next step would be to apply to do a second undergrad. I've resolved the mental health issues that tanked my GPA and assume I'll be getting better grades. If my grades have improved significantly, how soon into my second degree could I present a competitive application? Could my improved grades from the end of the first degree be taken into account? What does my best possible timeline look like?

And finally, I would of course appreciate any other ideas and options I haven't thought of yet. Thanks!

Hey,

So with that GPA it'd be very difficult to get into law school. Even with a top percentile LSAT and a 3.0 is pushing it.

That being said, going back to school is your best option. You don't need an entire undergrad degree again. You could do open studies for 2 years and apply to L2/B2 school. (U of C/ U of A/ Queen's... Ect.)

If you do decide to do another whole degree, your previous degree will likely still count, but if you show major improvements it'll likely not impact it majorly.

Good luck!

CleanHands
  • Lawyer
12 minutes ago, filicophyta said:

My first question is this: am I correct in assuming that, even if I apply access and score a top-percentage LSAT, the GPA is unworkable? 

Almost certainly yes, unfortunately.