Depressed Waiting

vintagepng

vintagepng
  • Applicant

L20: 3.9

LSAT: 155

I took the January exam the day after my dog died which hurt my score. I’m a veteran that released due to PTSD, severe anxiety, severe depression. I’ve worked diligently with military members who have survived sexual trauma and for their voices to be heard by upper echelon.

I’ve worked so hard for 5 years, one of the top of my class, been published. And this waiting game is seriously killing my mental health to which I’ve had two complete major breakdowns because I feel like I failed. I just wish I could get an answer, because I feel like I’m capable no different than anyone else that has gotten offer letters.

• Hugs 16

EmbeddedClause
  • Law Student

I wish I had something better to offer, but I just wanted to say that you aren't alone, and that what you're feeling is wholly valid. I was talking to my husband the other day about how this feels like such a game changing moment - the stress of waiting to hear whether you've gotten in or not can feel so so heavy, especially when it has been something you've been working hard at for a long time.

I know law school applicants can sometimes get jumped all over for letting that anxiety show, but I hope you know that there are people here who are feeling exactly the same way right now. I hope you feel that you can reach out here or to people in your personal life, and I want to thank you for letting it out in this post, because there are so many of us who will see it and have our own feelings of "waiting" anxiety validated. 

Waiting with you, pal.

• Like 1

Darth Vader
  • Lawyer

You'll get in. Your stats are good. But make sure you have a handle on your mental health before going to law school, because law school and the legal field exacerbate mental health issues. 

User456
  • Law School Admit