Recommendations for Second Choice Schools

mjslava

mjslava
  • Applicant

I want to preface this by apologizing for the long post, but I'm someone that likes to plan ahead as much as possible and consider all options thoroughly.

Here's my situation. I am a mature student who only applied to UVIC this past cycle. I feel like I have a solid chance of acceptance (913 index score; historically, auto-admission scores fall within the 905-915+ range). So I am confident of my chances but in the event that I am not accepted, I want to choose the next best option next cycle. I have some time this summer to travel and would like to visit the city of the school that best fits my criteria to get a feel for it and look for neighbourhoods since I have two young kids.

I'm fortunate that my GPA and LSAT are competitive enough to fall within the "auto-admission" range of many schools (3.3 cGPA; 3.7-8 L2, 169), including U of Calgary, Alberta, Manitoba, Queen's, and Western (of course, I know that nothing is guaranteed).

And a decent chance of getting into Osgoode, Dalhousie, and Ottawa.

Ideally, I want to work in either Victoria or Vancouver after Law School but wouldn't rule out other areas of the country. I know it's best to go to school where you want to work, but sometimes that's not possible. TRU is not an option for me. I'm open to all areas of law, but might prefer corporate, business, IP, entertainment, and criminal.

Outside of UofT, McGill, UBC, and UVIC, which school has enough of a national reach to give me the best chance of being hired in BC? 

Thanks for any input.

I’d say Osgoode would be your best bet.  Beyond that, I imagine UAlberta and Calgary wouldn’t be bad choices, as a fair number of BC residents go to those schools with intentions of going back.