TRU or UofA

Ave

Ave
  • Law School Admit

Firstly I’d like to thank anyone willing to take the time to read and provide input and advice! I am a BC resident and will ultimately be returning to BC (specifically Vancouver Island) after I finish law school. I have yet to be accepted to other BC schools but believe I do have a shot at UVic (albeit maybe small). In the event I am not accepted to my local school, what would provide me the best job prospects upon return? Does anyone have experience attending UofA and returning to BC? Current students, are you happy with your choice of attending TRU or UofA? I’m very grateful to have offers from both schools and believe I’d be ultimately happy at either one but I want to make sure I’m making the smartest decision for my future. 

maybemaybe
  • Applicant

hey! I have no idea about job prospects but can speak a bit to the pros and cons. Overall from what I've heard, the law faculty at UofA is pretty great. However, over the past few years, there have been massive budget cuts in Alberta that hit UofA very hard. In fact, there was just a newly announced budget cut like 2 days ago. Something to consider, it might make coming here more costly for you.

Don't know much about TRU but one thing I do know is that they rescinded a sizeable amount of offers last year from people who had already been accepted!! And it was very late into the summer too. Just shines a bad light on the faculty in general. 

LMP
  • Articling Student
2 hours ago, Ave said: